Webinars :: SCIENCEx Invasive Species

Thanks to Jim Farrar for sharing the announcement below. There are talks on CHEATGRASS and VENTENATA on Feb. 26.

****************

logo US Forest Service med

 

SCIENCEx Invasive Species webinars

US Forest Service is hosting a week-long series of webinars on invasive pests: https://www.fs.fed.us/research/sciencex-webinars/

When: February 22-26, 2021 :: 12:30-1:30 Pacific / 1:30-2:30 Mountain / 2:30-3:30 Central / 3:30-4:30 Eastern

Where: Adobe Connect link

 

Schedule

FEBRUARY 22: SCIENCEx Invasive Tree Pests and Pathogens

  • Threats, Impacts, and Management of Invasive Species With Highlights on Developing an Integrated Management Program for Emerald Ash Borer, presented by Therese Poland
  • What is a Hemlock woolly adelgid, and who is eating them? presented by Nathan Havill
  • Forest Health Monitoring for Pests and Pathogens of Trees, presented by Ryan Blaedow

FEBRUARY 23: SCIENCEx Invasive Tree Diseases

  • White pine blister rust in a changing climate: investigating complex interactions to develop strategies to restore and sustain mountain-top ecosystems, presented by Anna Schoettle
  • Patterns and Impacts of Rapid Ohia Death in Hawaii's Native Forests: Science-Based Management Approaches, presented by Flint Hughes
  • Thirty Years of Sudden Oak Death: The Consequences of a Pathogen Invasion, presented by Susan Frankel

FEBRUARY 24: SCIENCEx Invasive Aquatics

  • Biosecurity Priorities to Forestall Amphibian Chytrid Transmission, presented by Deanna ‘Dede' Olson
  • Detecting Aquatic Invaders with eDNA: Challenges and Opportunities, presented by Brooke Penaluna
  • Recognized and Unrecognized Effects of Invasive Bivalves on Native Freshwater Mussels, presented by Wendell Haag

FEBRUARY 25: SCIENCEx Invasive Animals & Animal Pathogens

  • A One Health (Ecosystems Health) Approach to Managing Invasive Animals and Animal Pathogens, presented by Patrice ‘Patty' Klein
  • White Nose Syndrome, presented by SybillAmelon
  • Barred Owl Range Expansion in western North America: Ecological Impacts and Conservation Lessons, presented by John Keane

FEBRUARY 26: SCIENCEx Invasive Plants

  • Cheatgrass Impacts and Management Options in Western U.S. Ecosystems, presented by Ali Urza and Brice Hanberry
  • Impacts of Invasive Cogongrass on Private and Public land: Prevention and Control Strategies, presented by RimaLucardi
  • Ventenata Invasion in the Western U.S.: Using Remote Sensing & Model Output to Understand Invasion Risk, presented by Becky K. Kerns

 For information on the webinars, visit https://www.fs.fed.us/research/sciencex-webinars/.

 


By Gale Perez
Posted by - Program Representative